Idents

Idents are a short and effective way to introduce something or to display a brand. Some of the most well known idents are E4’s Estings. Estings promote the channel while also offering a short piece of animation.

 

I have been challenged to create my own ident, using Maya animations.

 

To structure this project, I created this powerpoint.

ident-design-powerpoint

 

I had some issues with deciding on which narrative to choose, I went back and forth before settling on my spinning city idea.

By the way, I did intent to add one more logo to the list of resources: Lava Bear Films. However, I couldn’t find a video of the logo moving, so I made do with the three others.

 

To help visualise my ident idea, I have started to work on a storyboard. I only managed to get the first frame completed in the lesson, so you’ll have to forgive my poor penmanship.

start-of-storyboard

So, as you found out in the powerpoint, my ident will be a spinning pan out of a city in the shape of the word “RISE.”

I plan on making the city out of dark grey and stodgy blue building, so the city will have a very dry and moody look to it, this will be heightened by the building’s shadows.

Those things that look like sprinkles in the first frame are meant to be vehicles – One of the critiques I was given about this idea was that there wasn’t much actually animated. So, with that in mind, I added vehicles to the scene. I intend for these vehicles to move individually, so that this scene has more layers of movement.

Leave a Reply

